top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay

Learning from #Drawcember

As children, one of the first artistic forms of expression that we learn--besides screaming and dancing--is drawing. We learn to interpret the things in our world, to see them as more two-dimensional so those representations can be put more easily onto paper.



Strangely enough, though we are faced with three dimensional versions of everything in our lives, it seems that it's much more difficult to represent that on paper. I was always in awe of the kids in my class who could draw extremely well, and apparently with ease. Somewhere along the way in my life, I came to feel that a true artist could draw exceptionally well from memory and with ease.


BAHAHAHAHAHA! Ahem. Now I know a little more than I used to. I'm not where I want to be with my "artistic" talent, but I've had the privilege of listening to many people as they create various forms of art. Yes, some people have more innate talent, but that's not always the case with great artists. I've learned that the one thing they all have in common is that they practice. Daily. Relentlessly. They've put in TONS of effort to be able to get to the point they are at.


I never thought it strange that I had to practice piano on a daily basis, but for some odd reason drawing was different in my mind. I shouldn't have to do that daily, I should just be able to draw a few strokes and "poof"! Something amazing would be on my paper. Saying this aloud, or reading it makes this mindset seem very obviously ridiculous, but I know I'm not really alone in having that preconceived notion.


Artists get good because they practice. A lot. I was spending a few minutes on my drawings as a kid, and eventually they did get better. During this #Drawcember challenge that one of my kids wanted me to create, things started to "click" in my mind. I usually don't have the patience to spend a lot of time on my drawing. I'd always be dissatisfied with how it didn't match what I envisioned in my head, and because I didn't have the knowledge and resources to fix it, I'd call my work done, put it away and lament that I'd never be a true artist.


This month, though, it's as if all the time watching amazing artists on Twitch.tv , the online art courses I've taken, and my own experience finally collided. I realized that these artists making awesome things weren't just taking a few minutes, and sometimes their initial sketches looked a bit like mine. My lines are messier, but they can be cleaned up pretty well. The major difference was time, and using some sort of reference when possible. It really does help. This piece (in case you didn't already see it on Instagram) took me many days to complete, but turned out better than I expected.


#Drawcember day 1 challenge "candy"

The drawback? Yes there is a drawback...at least for #Drawcember. It's taking me forever to do my drawings. I can't complete them the way I want to in a day, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I'll get better at sketching, and faster, if I keep drawing a little bit each day. I'm working at a snail's pace...so I'll probably get #Drawcember done in July. I guess as long as I get it done before next #Drawcember, I'm good, right?


If you've learned some interesting things along your creative journey, feel free to share them in the comments! Have a great day!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page