top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay

Happy #Mermay!

I'm back with more drawing prompts. I wanted to be on time, perhaps even early this time. There's been a bit going on in real life lately and I think that drawing could be just the thing to help calm and refocus.


If you're not familiar with #Mermay (think Mermaid May), it was created by artist Tom Bancroft. You can see some of his awesome artwork on Instagram @tombancroft1. I love the idea of Mermay. We're in Spring, and it's that weird in-between where the weather is merging from Spring into the Summer temperatures at times, or at least makes us yearn for those Summer temps. ;)


What better way to spend your wait than by attempting some lovely pictures of merpeople? Merpeople are one of my most favorite mythical beings, but I sadly haven't had much luck drawing them. I'm a little intimidated about Mermay this year, but also excited to try. I know it won't be great, but I'm hoping it will end up being better than previous attempts. In preparation I think I'll need to rewatch some art videos. I'm sure Mr. Bancroft will have his own prompts for the month of May, but if you want to save these for later or do these instead please feel free to use them! Just make sure if you tag and share them on Instagram or Twitter use a slightly different hashtag to avoid confusion. Use #Mermaycc2021 for sharing so it doesn't get mixed up with whatever this year's official #Mermay title is. The cc in the above hashtag will stand for Crafty Cove. Good luck drawing, and have fun! Don't beat yourself up if you can't do every single day, it's a lot, and as long as you're drawing as much as you want, you're already winning.


Hopefully these help you come up with some creative scenes with merpeople, if you need any clarification on any of the prompts comment or reach out to me on Instagram at @shaycraftycove or Twitter @craftycove. Have fun!

Recent Posts

See All
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page