top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay

Words From a Lackluster Creative

I know it, and you know it too. We don't need to be told, all we have to do is look around. There are multiple scales of creativity. On the creativity spectrum I'm like a 1. For reals. Martha Stewart? Her creativity is like a 10+. All of it is okay. Whatever spectrum you are, it's cool.


It's easy to get intimidated in the face of obvious creative genius. I look at the ads from my local craft stores (not to mention Pinterest) and I'm blown away by the sheer creativity of projects. I could have all the materials I need in my home to make something cool, but my brain just can't seem to do anything with what I have.


Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

I don't believe that only certain people are "creatives". Creativity is a muscle that everyone has. If we don't give ourselves the chance to use it, we lose it. At the very least, it's underdeveloped if we haven't given it much attention. Creativity is really about freeing the mind to think outside of the box that we have put ourselves in.


Creativity is more about solution-oriented thinking, or "what if?" thinking. Honestly, in this society we're used to a lot of structure. We're used to seeing what is done, and what isn't done. There's a mentality of "it's the way it's always been done", or "that's not possible". The true value of a creative is their ability to see past obstacles and think of the possibilities. I'm a baby creative, I'm still identifying creativity and what it looks like for me. So, no, I'm not that creative. But I am trying to strengthen my creative muscles, and that's the important part. I know (or hope) that the more creative I try to be, the more projects I attempt, the more I'll learn.


Where do you think you are on the creative spectrum? What creative thing would you like to achieve or try?

6 views0 comments
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page