top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay

Too Much Creative Clutter?

There's many types of clutter in our lives. There's the physical kind of clutter, mental clutter, and creative clutter. There are probably more types than that, but if you're like me you mostly think of clutter as the physical thing.


Paper clutter on a desk
Photo by Dimitry Anikin from Pexels

Physical clutter can impact us more than we realize. I'm pretty good at putting on blinders and ignoring the clutter, and I usually know exactly where things are in the stack of clutter. There's another type of clutter that I like to think of as creative clutter.


Creative clutter is when you have tons of creative ideas, and it distracts you from another creative idea. Worst-case scenario creative clutter results in creative paralysis, or what some people have come to term "writer's block". Best-case scenario the creative ideas can derail you from progressing on a project you want to complete.


Are you the type of crafter that has a bunch of projects hanging around in various states of completion? I know I am. Crochet is especially evident since it has physical form. I have quite a few projects with the crochet needles marking the place where I stopped working.


Why did I stop working? Why didn't I simply finish up the project? Honestly I don't know. Chances are I got distracted with another creative idea and wanted to start the new project right away, leaving the other one waiting in the wings to be completed.


Since it's Spring, I know a lot of people are dedicated about Spring cleaning. There's something to that, because we all need to refresh our spaces. Cleaning our physical spaces helps mentally refresh us, so if you're up for another challenge (you can do it any time of year :) ) consider tackling all those unfinished creative projects. At least it'll free up more space to put even more creative projects when you get distracted. ;)


I know that I've felt a little better after completing some unfinished projects (or de-cluttering a space), and I hope that working on your 'creative clutter' will make you feel at least a little better as well. Plus, then you can actually do something with that awesome project! Let me know how your creative decluttering goes, and share your decluttering ideas in the comments.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page