top of page
  • Writer's pictureShay

Appreciating Stan Lee and Creativity

As you probably already know, Stan Lee passed away this week. I had a post planned for turning creative endeavors into profits, but Stan Lee has been in the back of my mind since I heard the news. So, I figured I might as well post about my thoughts.


I can't write with any authority about the world of comics, and I didn't know Stan Lee personally. I can see the effects of his works though, and even though I wasn't allowed to have comics as a young child, I was still touched by the few pages that I managed to sneak once in a while in a grocery store checkout lane, or the book aisle where my mother would be preoccupied. I stole glances at Spiderman comics and Superman, not really understanding Marvel vs. DC comics. I just loved the bold art that told the story nearly as much as the dialogue.


Black and white detailed sketch of many unrelated things
Photo by khairul nizam on Pexels.com

I've loved the movies I've seen so far--I'm a sucker for superhero movies--and I'm saddened that now that I can have my own comics, for some odd reason, I'll likely never be able to read the originals. As a child, I always thought comics would be like books; always around for people to read and appreciate. That wasn't the case, and the new comics that I've picked up, lack the depth of the ones I stole glances at as a child. It occurred to me today, that with the passing of Stan Lee, there would be a void in our world. He didn't just provide timeless stories for us, his gift was so much more. 

Person with pen writing elegant sign on paper that says 'Let your dreams be bigger than your fears'
Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

Stan Lee gave us something to ponder, permission to ask ourselves who we are, and to learn that we could--despite any of the terrible things that might have happened to us in our lives--persevere. He allowed us through his stories, to investigate the implications of our choices, the responsibilities we should take, and those we might shirk. We were given a reminder of ideals we once held as children, and the hope that we could still choose to represent those ideals as adults. Stan Lee's work is not just an amazing creative endeavor that has stood the test of time so far, but is filled with messages we need to hear. A superhero lives in all of us. We've been shown what it takes to be the very best version of ourselves. 



Young man in hoodie standing in front of a chalkboard with artistic flexed arms behind the man
Photo by Pixabay at Pexels.com

I can't help but think that we need, more than ever, works like Stan Lee's comics. Those are mighty shoes to fill, and I am not sure that anyone will be able to carry on those messages and encouragement to touch the number of lives that Lee's work has. I hope at least one person tries. It's so easy to lose the idealism we feel as children, and to stop trying. Creativity is one of those things that nurtures idealism, and gives us permission to reach for the stars, or imagine the impossible. I hope we have a whole new generation of Stan Lee fans, who go out and create with passion and perseverance, and who don't forget that their life choices can make them the best version of themselves.


Close-up of a hand holding a pencil writing the word 'create' artistically
Photo by Lum3n.com on Pexels.com

Keep creating guys! You never know whose life you might impact. Share kindness and encouragement, and live with compassion. <3

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page